Ricardo Pietreczko’s unbelievable triumph at the European Darts Open continues. After his triumphs over the Dutchman Geert Nentjes on Friday and the Scottish world champion of 2022, Peter Wright, the day after, the Franconian by choice also defeated Stephen Bunting from England on Sunday.

Pietreczko, who was only able to qualify for a European Tour tournament for the first time in three years, won 6:3 and is thus in the quarterfinals of a televised darts tournament for the first time in his career.

Despite all the joy, the 28-year-old first addressed the behavior of some of the 2,500 fans in the Leverkusen Arena in his winner’s interview. “I have goose bumps. But please do me a favor. All the players up here are very, very good dart players. And please don’t boo anyone. I just don’t think that’s right,” said Pietreczko.

In the course of the looming German success, parts of the audience tried to influence Bunting’s throws with whistles and shouts. Pietreczko had already put his index finger to his lips on stage and called the disturbers to reason.

He didn’t need help anyway. The Berliner, who lives in Nuremberg, presented himself too well on the double courts, especially on the bullseye. “I love the bullseye, also for standing,” said Pietreczko, recalling the crucial moments in the middle of the match.

After he had to accept the break to make it 2:3, he countered with an 82 finish via the bullseye to make it 3:3 and also checked 122 points with the red button in the middle of the board to make it 4:3. In 13 darts he made it 5-3 and closed on double 4 to win. 75 percent on doubles was key and kept his average at 92.87 points.

In the quarterfinals, Rob Cross will meet in the evening session from 7 p.m. (live on Sport1 and DAZN). The 2018 world champion shot William O’Connor 6-1 and a 110 average off the stage. The defeated Irishman had taken Martin Schindler out of the tournament 6-0 the day before.

Dave Chisnall (ENG) – Danny Noppert (NED) 1:6

Damon Heta (AUS) – Ryan Meikle (ENG) 6:4

Michael Smith (ENG) – Gerwyn Price (WAL) 2:6

Michael van Gerwen (NL) – Dimitri van den Bergh (BEL) 6:2

Ricardo Pietreczko (D) – Stephen Bunting (ENG) 6:3

Rob Cross (ENG) – William O‘Connor (IRL) 6:1

Dirk van Duijvenbode (ENG) – Ross Smith (ENG) 6:5

Brendan Dolan (NIR) – Josh Rock (NIR)

Danny Noppert (NED) – Damon Heta (AUS)

Gerwyn Price (WAL) – Michael van Gerwen (NED)

Ricardo Pietreczko (D) – Rob Cross (ENG)

Dirk van Duijvenbode (NED) – Brendan Dolan (NIR)/Josh Rock (NIR)