Newcastle striker Anthony Gordon was called up for the first time on Thursday for England’s upcoming friendlies, a selection that includes Ivan Toney and Joe Gomez, but not Kalvin Phillips. The reigning European vice-champions host Brazil and Belgium on March 23 and 26 at Wembley, a final gathering before the announcement of the list for Euro 2024 in Germany.

Coach Gareth Southgate decided to see for the first time Jarrad Branthwaite (21), central defender of Everton, and Anthony Gordon (23), left winger of Newcastle. He recalled defender Joe Gomez, who returned to the spotlight at Liverpool after injuries, which is a first since November 2020.

Another return is that of Ivan Toney, the Brentford striker who served an eight-month suspension for a breach of the sports betting rule. The 27-year-old striker has scored four goals in nine Premier League appearances since returning to action in January. In defense, John Stones (Manchester City) and Ben Chilwell (Chelsea) return to the selection, rid of their physical problems.

Southgate, however, did not call Kalvin Phillips. The defensive midfielder, little used at Manchester City, has been in difficulty since his arrival on loan this winter at West Ham. Chelsea winger Raheem Sterling, uncapped in recent months, continues to stay away from the “Three Lions”. England will test themselves against Bosnia-Herzegovina and Iceland on June 3 and 7, at Newcastle and Wembley respectively, before facing Serbia, Denmark and Slovenia in the first round of the Euro.

List of players selected for England in March:

Gardiens : Sam Johnstone (Crystal Palace), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Défenseurs : Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Milieux : Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid/ESP), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Jordan Henderson (Ajax Amsterdam/NED), James Maddison (Tottenham), Declan Rice (Arsenal).

Attaquants : Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich/GER), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).