Ferrari, with its drivers Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz, mastered the first free practice session of the Singapore Grand Prix on Friday, disrupted by the presence of lizards on the Marina Bay street circuit, scene of the 15th round of the season. Formula 1.

In the Singaporean furnace putting the drivers’ physique to the test, the solid leader in the world championship Max Verstappen (Red Bull) took the third fastest time of the session.

The British Lando Norris (McLaren), Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and George Russell (Mercedes) complete the Top 6 in a session mainly disrupted by several lizards on the track. No incidents were reported.

The day before, Verstappen, in search of a record eleventh consecutive victory in F1 – his first in Singapore – had recognized that his car risked not being “as competitive as on other circuits”.

“The street circuits are a little more difficult for our car, I still think we can do a good job, but it will be very close,” said the two-time reigning champion.

On Sunday, Red Bull (583 points in the general classification) has a first chance to claim a second coronation in a row in the constructors’ world championship. But to achieve this, his drivers, Verstappen and the Mexican Sergio Pérez – winner last year in Singapore – must finish in the first two places in the Grand Prix.

At the same time, if Mercedes, second in the championship (273 points), does not score any points (or only one if Red Bull also recovers the point for best time), the team will then be declared champions for the sixth time in its history .

A second free practice session is scheduled for Friday at 9:00 p.m. local time (3:00 p.m. in Paris/1:00 p.m. GMT).

The Singapore GP is contested at night, in order to maximize the number of European viewers due to the time difference, but also to limit the effects of the tropical heat on the drivers.

. 1st free practice session:

Charles Leclerc (MON/Ferrari) 1:33.350

Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP/Ferrari) 1:33.428

Max Verstappen (NED/Red Bull) 1:33.476

Lando Norris (GBR/McLaren-Mercedes) 1:33.522

Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) 1:33.540

George Russell (GBR/Mercedes) 1:33.695

Sergio Pérez (MEX/Red Bull) 1:33.725

Fernando Alonso (ESP/Aston Martin-Mercedes) 1:33.974

Yuki Tsunoda (JPN/AlphaTauri-Red Bull) 1:34.042

Esteban Ocon (FRA/Alpine-Renault) 1:34.066

Lance Stroll (CAN/Aston Martin-Mercedes) 1:34.568

Pierre Gasly (FRA/Alpine-Renault) 1:34.639

Alexander Albon (THA/Williams-Mercedes) 1:34.657

Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Alfa Romeo-Ferrari ) 1:34.802

Kevin Magnussen (DEN/Haas-Ferrari) 1:34.887

Liam Lawson (NZL/AlphaTauri-Red Bull) 1:34.894

Nico Hülkenberg (GER/Haas-Ferrari) 1:34.985

Zhou Guanyu (CHN/Alfa Romeo-Ferrari) 1:35.456

Oscar Piastri (AUS/McLaren-Mercedes) 1:35.474

Logan Sargeant (USA/Williams-Mercedes) 1:35.778

SEE ALSO – Haaland, Mbappé, Messi: the nominees for the title of best player Fifa The Best 2023